Tune Tuesday: The Concert That Changed My Life

I had a playlist of music to scream at the top of your lungs because that’s how I’ve been feeling lately but that’s totally going to have to wait until next week because oh my god, something better definitely came up. A month or so ago, I bought my best friend and I tickets to see Simple Plan’s 15th, that’s right I said it, 15th-anniversary tour and I’m just at a loss for words.

 

IMG_2688
Seaway, March 25th, 2017

The first opening band, Seaway, hails from Canada so they’ve already got one plus on their side. As far as they’re music goes, they’re this pop-punk, emoish-rock band, which is what I am living for (at least the 12-year-old me that was there for Simple Plan was living for it). They are a genuinely good band. I really enjoyed the style of their music, their stage presence, and the overall vibe of the band. The only thing I was a little unimpressed by was the lead singer’s choice of mic position if that’s what you would call it. He held the mic in that traditional pop punk pose (which you can kinda see in the picture above) so most of the time the mic was too far or too high up so you couldn’t hear him sing shit. But he was one hell of a hypeman. Oh, and they definitely won me over with their cover of Stacy’s Mom by Fountains of Wayne.

 

A+. 10 out of 10. If I were into going to Warped or if Bamboozle was still a thing, I’d probably go see their set. Definitely, recommend this band for anyone who’s a fan of the OG pop-punk genre vibe. Their music is definitely long car drive jams-the type of music I can stare out the window and pretend I’m in a music video for.

The next band is a Florida five-piece called Set it Off. Their style is pop-punk with that synth shit. Very reminiscent of a band that you’ve heard that one time but can’t remember the name of it. They’re…okay? I mean, I don’t really know how I feel about this band. If I was actually 11 or 12, I’d probably be in love with them. There’s just something that’s kinda eh about them now. Maybe I’ve outgrown my pop punk synth phase and only have room in my heart for a very few. I also don’t know much about music in a manner that you should really be taking my advice on what’s good or bad. I just know what I like and what I don’t like. That being said, my opinion is that they’re just okay. A lot of their music sounded like something else that I’ve already heard. One song reminded me of Oops!…I Did It Again and another reminded me of MJ’s Smooth Criminal, which wasn’t bad, just something I wasn’t prepared for.

IMG_2743
Set It Off, March 25th, 2017

 

Overall, not my music scene at this age (minus the dope trumpet they broke out. That was straight fire) but if I was 13 or 14, I would go see them at some festival or whatever. As a 23-year-old, I’d probably watch them if there were no bands that I liked playing. Again, they’re not bad. Just not for me.

Finally, the moment we’ve all been waiting for. Simple friggin Plan. The first time I ever heard simple plan I was in like 5th or 6th grade. Blockbuster was still a thing and they were having their signature 5 for $20 DVD sales. I picked up this movie called The New Guy and that was the first time I heard I’m Just A Kid. From that moment, I was hooked. In fact, I think Simple Plan was the start of what my music taste is today. I used to watch their videos on Yahoo Music and from there is was just a rabbit hole of one band after another.

 

IMG_2685
Megan and I reliving our 12-year-old days.

In fact, this music brought my best friend and I together even more as we grew up. She used to have theNo Pads, No Helmets…Just balls album (which is what the 15th-anniversary tour was for. Can you believe that album is 15?! What the hell? I think I’m starting to understand how my dad felt when we went to see Black Sabbath on their farewell tour, Jesus). Anyway, she used to have the album and we used to listen to it so much that we wore it out and it started to skip. Instead of getting a new disc, we just sang out hearts along to the skips. Simple Plan was a major part of my pre-teen existence. I am so grateful for their music. They are just one of those bands that are there for you during those life defining moments.

 

They are the most amazing performers and being at their show gave me life. It was one of those experiences you hear diehard music fans talk about- being in one room with people

IMG_2894
Simple Plan, March 25th, 2017

of all types, singing our hearts out to one album. It sounds cheesy as all hell but it was life changing. It made my life feel purposeful and like I really belonged somewhere, just like the album did when I was younger. They are excellent live and I recommend seeing them if you ever have the chance. Like, if they only performed in Canada, I would strongly consider dropping that mad cash to go see them, that’s how good they were.

 

That’s it for Tune Tuesday! Check back next week to see what I’ve been listening to and what I’m recommending!

Leave a Reply

