Movie Monday- Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension

SPOILERS. THIS REVIEW OBVIOUSLY CONTAINS SPOILERS EVEN THOUGH THIS MOVIE CAME OUT IN 2015 AND IF YOU REALLY WANTED TO WATCH IT YOU WOULD HAVE SEEN IT BY NOW. DO NOT READ IF YOU DON’T WANT SPOILERS.

This week’s Movie Monday focuses on the (hopefully not even though they say it is) last installment of the Paranormal Activity series, Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension. I’m not afraid to say it. The Paranormal Activity franchise is one of my all time favorites. Most people see these films as some hokey found footage works that don’t really make sense but kinda make sense…maybe? I think that’s the beauty of them. Overall, the films are well thought out and planned considering they don’t follow a linear narrative (i.e they don’t go in chronological order). That’s one of the things I think makes these films even more special.You have to actively follow them in order to understand them. That and the fact that I’m a sucker for any sort of found footage horror film about demons and shit.

Like all the films in this series, it focuses on this demon named Toby that’s screwing with, yet again, another family. In this particular movie, Toby’s ruining the lives of another white family, which is typical of him minus the little stint he had in Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones. He probably realized that deviation was a little too much to handle. Either way, it follows the typical family with a child that gets possessed. We find out that she’s the target because she was born on June 6th, 2005 which is the sixth month, the sixth day, and the sixth year. What a shocker. It’s also revealed why the baby is kidnapped in the second film since the two share a birthday and it just makes sense now.

ezgif.com-resize (2)

PA: TGD ties up the loose ends from all of the weird prequel/sequel/current time films. We get to see what Toby looks like after eight friggin years. And by get to see what he looks like I mean we get to see what his gooey looking semi-figureless ass looks like. Not really that exciting to be honest. However, we do get a siiiiiick shin shot at the end when he finally becomes a person. All my prayers have been answered now. In the end, all the adults die and the kids are taken into the coven demon cult. And that’s really all that happened honestly.

It was a much faster pace movie than the first few. There was way more jump scares in this film and I found myself to be more scared than I remember being when I first watched them (then again, I might just be getting more chicken in my old age). Also, the film lost a lot of the shitty found footage quality, which is what I think makes the film better and they also opted for a looooooot of special effects shit, which I kinda understand in the context of the film. All of that was needed in order to get that really “ghost dimension” feel.

Do I recommend this movie? Sure. I’ll always recommend a paranormal activity film if someone asks. Do I think people will like this movie? Absolutely not. I think if the franchise didn’t exist and this was a stand alone film, it would probably get more than 0.5 stars on IMDB and Rotten Tomatoes. I think being branded with the Paranormal series kinda screwed it. That or I just have shit taste in movies which is also true.

ezgif.com-resize

I’d recommend this movie for people who want an excuse not to have kids. Kids are always the source of demonic possession and having one in your home increases the possibility for crazy shit like this happening by at least 78% so there’s that. No one wants you to have children if you’re going to just drop kick them in the middle of the night when they’re trying to ask you for some water. Oh, and if you hated playing the recorder in like 2nd or 3rd grade, you’re gunna wanna use this movie as an excuse or for validation in not wanting that Satan summoning stick in you home. If I’m being honest, though, I do recommend this movie for people who like cheesy horror films or at least low expectations for them. It’s not really scary in a suspenseful way, just the pop-out jump scares.

ezgif.com-resize (1)

Overall, I give this movie a 6 out of 10. Give it a shot and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

